top of page

Decker, Perks Earn Top Honors in First Nescatunga Sugar Show

April Decker and Katie Sue Perks, both of Alva, won the top awards at the first Nescatunga Arts Festival Sugar Show Saturday, June 4, inside the eXtreme building in downtown Alva.

Decker won the BancCentral Best of Show honors and $100, and Perks was voted as the $100 Holder Drug People’s Choice winner.

Decker also won first place honors in both the aspiring cakes and aspiring cupcakes divisions.

Perks, entered in the professional division, won first place in both the edible cake division and non-edible sugar art division.

In the cupcake division, placing first in professional was Kasey Chaffin of Alva.

In the cookie division, placing first in professional was Heather Allen of Hazelton, Kansas, with Savannah Smith of Waynoka placing first in the aspiring division.

Student winners saw Amanda Metcalf of Enid placing first in cupcakes, and Elisabeth Ridgway of Alva placing first in edible cakes.

Also entered in this first contest was Jennifer Jones of Alva.

Serving as judges this year were Kim Baugh, Anne Haight and Alyssa Willson.

April Ridgway, Nescatunga secretary, is the chair for this new event. She said the feedback from the contestants was great, and everyone is looking forward to next year’s competition.

To learn more about the contest, contact Ridgway at (580) 917-0101 or A photo gallery from the contest is available at


130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page